About 100 people were in attendance to honor this year’s award recipients. The Max Haverman “Outstanding Columbus Firefighter” Award was presented to Lt. William Ross, a 27-year veteran of the Columbus Division of Fire. Firefighter Jason Miller received the Larry Parlett “Outstanding County Firefighter” honor. Jason is a Firefighter/Paramedic with the Plain Township Fire Department in New Albany. “We had some very strong candidates this year, but these two really stood out as very deserving individuals” Box 15 President Brett Barber said.

This year’s ceremony included two additional award categories – the Harry W. Knodel “Outstanding Service Award” and the Peter R. Fowler “Distinguished Service Award”. Both were named for Box 15 members who had dedicated more than 40 years of service to Box 15. The Knodel Award went to member Josh Gibson while Sonny Lewis & Joe O’Brien both earned the Fowler award.

The event was held at IAFF Local 67’s “Station 67” and was catered by Savor the Flavor Catering of Canal Winchester.

Get your tickets now!

Tickets for the 2014 Awards Dinner, Honoring Lt. Wm. Ross & Firefighter Jason Miller are now available at the Box 15 website.  Go to and access the "Online Store".  Tickets are $20 per person.

Join us for an evening of fellowship and honor these deserving individuals.

Box 15 to honor 2 area firefighters


Looking back at 2013

Box 15 has published our Annual Report for 2013.  Click here to view it.

Thank You

A big thank you the members of Franklin Township Firefighters Local 1441 and all who attended the fundraiser at the Columbus Funny Bone Club last nights. A part of the proceeds will help fund Box 15 efforts to operate three rehab units for Central Ohio Public Safety agencies.


You are here: Home News